Header line

The Government of India through a resolution dated 1st June, 2005 set up the National Statistical Commission (NSC). The setting up of the NSC followed the decision of the Cabinet to accept the recommendations of the Rangarajan Commission, which reviewed the Indian Statistical System in 2001. The NSC was constituted with effect from 12th July 2006 with a mandate to evolve policies, priorities and standards in statistical matters.The NSC has four Members besides a Chairperson, each having specialization and experience in specified statistical fields.

Header line

A Commission set up by the Government in January 2000 under the Chairmanship of Dr. C. Rangarajan reviewed the statistical system and the entire gamut of Official Statistics in the country. The Rangarajan Commission submitted its report to the Government in August 2001. One of the key recommendations of this Commission was to establish a permanent National Commission on Statistics to serve as a nodal and empowered body for all core statistical activities of the country, evolve, monitor and enforce statistical priorities and standards and to ensure statistical co-ordination among the different agencies involved. The Rangarajan Commission also recommended that the Commission be set up initially through a Government order.

In line with the recommendations of the Rangarajan Commission, on 1st June 2005, the Government of India resolved to set up a National Statistical Commission (NSC). The Commission has a part-time Chairperson, four part-time Members and an ex-officio Member.The Chief Statistician of India, the post created specifically as the Head of the National Statistical Office is the Secretary of the Commission. He is also the Secretary to the Government of India in the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation.

Heading line

Present Composition

Present Members of the NSC (as on 12/12/2022)

Prof. Rajeeva Laxman Karandikar

Designation Chairman

Professor Emeritus Chennai Mathematical Institute

Tenure 08-12-2022 to present


Designation Member1




Designation Member2



Prof. Mukesh Mohania

Designation Member3

IIIT, Delhi

Tenure 01-12-2022 to present

Sh. Asit Kumar Sadhu

Designation Member4

Indian Statistical Service, 1983 Batch, Retired as DG(NSS)

Tenure 05-12-2022 to present

Shri Parameswaran Iyer

Designation Ex-Officio Member


Dr G.P. Samanta

Designation Secretary to the NSC

Chief Statistician of India & Secretary MOSPI

Past Members

Header line

The NSC Secretariat is located at 3rd Floor, C Wing, Pushpa Bhawan, New Delhi-110062.

In order to support the Secretary to the Commission in providing assistance to the Commission in the discharge of its functions, a small secretariat comprising a Deputy Director General and a Director with other support staff has been created

Heading line
Heading line

Report of Dr. Rangarajan Commission

Realising the growing statistical needs of the Society and to make sure that these get appropriately addressed, the Government of India set up the National Statistical Commission, the first of its kind, through Resolution No. M/13011/3/99-Admn. IV dated 19th January 2000 of the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation. Dr. C. Rangarajan, Honourable Governor of Andhra Pradesh was appointed as the part-time Chairman of the Commission along with eleven eminent statisticians and economists as its part-time members.The Commission Submitted its Report in the year 2001.

The Report has been divided into two volumes. Volume I comprises three chapters, while Volume II has eleven chapters. All the chapters have been continuously numbered for easy identification. Annexes pertaining to the different chapters have been accommodated in the concerned volume for quick reference.

Header line

NSCs vide letter No.8(64)/2010-NSC dated 05.10.2016 constituted 5 professional committees to examine potential improvement in methodology and database related issues pertaining to estimation of GDP within the broad framework of SNA 2008. These committees are:

Four of the above committees submitted their reports (available at the links given below) in the 102nd Meeting of the National Statistical Commission held on 16-17th July, 2018 under the Chairmanship of Dr R B Barman, Chairperson, NSC at Sardar Patel Bhawan.The fifth committee viz Committee on Fiscal Statistics submitted report on 28.09.2018.

The report of the Committee on Fiscal Statistics Statistics along with earlier four reports, is also hereby placed in the public domain to facilitate wider public consultation. The NSC welcomes comments and suggestions on this report at the following address by 26th December, 2018:

National Statistical Commission

NSC Secretariat, Room No-305,

3rd Floor, C-Wing, Pushpa Bhawan, New Delhi – 110062

It may be noted that the NSC does not necessarily agree with the views, data and other contents of the reports.

Header line

All correspondence to the NSC Secretariat may be addressed to the Deputy Director General


NSC Secretariat, 3rd Floor, C-Wing , Pushpa Bhawan, New Delhi-110062